Adairsville accepts K-9 unit donation
by Matt Shinall
Dec 09, 2011 | 1882 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The Adairsville City Council voted Thursday to accept a K-9 unit offered to the city at no charge.

A three-year-old, male German Shepherd named Dagger has been added to the force, donated by David Rolfe. At the meeting's close, Mayor Evan King read a letter of thanks addressed to Rolfe for his gift to the city.

"We are extremely grateful for your generous donation, which will better [equip] the Adairsville Police Department in its drug enforcement initiative as well as other critical law enforcement activities," King said. "We do appreciate that donation and we do feel that it will help our community get rid of some elements that we need to get rid of."

Thursday's regular meeting saw King and councilmen Alan Towe and Erwin Holcomb officially sworn in for their next term of office beginning Jan. 1. A resolution was approved prior to the swearing-in ceremony accepting the incumbents as officeholders in lieu of an election because no opposing candidates qualified.

An amended 2011 budget was approved taking into account for decreased revenues from Local Option Sales Tax and other sources, approved expenditures and an increase in insurance premium reimbursements seen after the release of 2010 Census data. A copy of the amended budget is available for viewing at city hall.

The second reading of a zoning application was made and application denied for one acre located at Highway 140 and Adares Parkway. The rezoning request from Mountain Ventures was denied because the applicant did not appear for the required public hearing.

Also approved Thursday were several items, including:

* Declaration of a used police cruiser as surplus and approval of disposal through the online auction site

* Approval of malt beverage and wine retail package license application for Knight Exxon at 102 Princeton Blvd.

* Motion to approve the job description for water treatment operator, grade 17.

* 2012 work session and council meeting calendar.